May 22, 2018, 16:39

Ref Watch: Sead Kolasinac lucky not to see red for Arsenal

Ref Watch: Sead Kolasinac lucky not to see red for Arsenal

Dermot Gallagher is back in the latest Ref Watch, with the former top-flight referee disagreeing with several decisions made over the weekend.

Brighton 2-1 Arsenal

INCIDENT: Sead Kolasinac, already on a yellow card, goes in hard on Brighton’s Ezequiel Schelotto as the pair went in for a 50-50.

Kolasinac turned slightly before the impact, meaning his shoulder slammed into Schelotto’s upper body, knocking him to the ground. Referee Stuart Attwell did not give the Arsenal man a second yellow.

DERMOT’S VIEW: Wrong decision. I was watching it live and expected him to get sent off. I thought there was enough force in that tackle to be considered reckless. It was certainly a second yellow card. I think in Stuart’s view, he has seen them head the ball, and has seen them come together.

It’s easy when we dissect and look at it here, and in the speed of the match I think he may have thought he’s headed the ball.

Kolasinac clatters Schelotto in Brighton's win over Arsenal

INCIDENT: With the score at 2-1, Granit Xhaka appeals for a penalty after going down in the area near Dale Stephens’ tackle. Referee Attwell waves play on.

DERMOT’S VIEW: Correct decision. Not a penalty. He doesn’t play the man, pulls out and the player goes down. It’s not a foul. He misses the player, misses the ball, but it’s not a foul.

Brighton 2-1 Arsenal

INCIDENT: Stephens slides in and wins the ball, but as his slide continues for another yard, Jack Wilshere goes down after minimal contact from the Brighton man. Yellow card and foul given.

DERMOT’S VIEW: Wrong decision. Misjudgment. He’s seen the result of the tackle and felt that Stephens has caught Wilshere, he hasn’t. When we dissect that, it’s easy to see that. Not a foul, and shouldn’t be a yellow card.

Man City 1-0 Chelsea

INCIDENT: Oleksandr Zinchenko’s long slide tackle catches Victor Moses studs up. Michael Oliver only shows a yellow card.

Man City 1-0 Chelsea

DERMOT’S VIEW: Correct decision. Not a red. It’s such an interesting challenge in so much that I think the player has almost got there too early, and because of that he is sliding along the ground. He’s not going through the air when the contact is made; the point where he does go through the air is before that.

Liverpool 2-0 Newcastle

INCIDENT: Jamaal Lascelles and Mo Salah collide as the Liverpool man runs through on goal. Salah’s touch just before the impact pushes the ball away from goal, and Graham Scott waves play on.

How did Jamaal Lascelles escape red?

DERMOT’S VIEW: Wrong decision. The only decision here is: is it a foul? And if it is a foul, it’s a red card. And yes, I do think it is a foul. The player clearly hasn’t gone to play the ball. The trajectory of the ball, where Salah takes a touch, may have thrown the referee off slightly.

Burnley 2-1 Everton

INCIDENT: Ashley Williams is sent off after his flailing arm catches Ashley Barnes in the penalty area while both sets of players wait for a free-kick.

Ashley Williams' moment of madness

DERMOT’S VIEW: Correct decision. This is an absolute first-class decision by Chris Kavanagh. Many were saying: ‘What is that for?!’ When you see the replay again, it’s not only a good identification, but a perfect application.

Sourse: skysports.com

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *